English

The English Department offers students a solid college preparatory program built around a strong emphasis on written communication.

Classroom time is devoted to engaging each student in a community of discourse through reading, writing, speaking, and listening. Critical thinking is fostered and encouraged as students develop an appreciation and understanding of both classic and contemporary literature.

Within both the college prep and honors courses, students approach literature as a means to explore our world and communication as a tool to express perceptions of that world.

English Department Faculty

  • Mrs. Jessica Mullen

    Chair

    jmullen@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1403

    B.A. English with Concentration in Writing

    La Salle University

    M.Ed. Reading

    Cabrini University

  • Mrs. Kara Bielli

    Director of Service and Social Justice

    kbielli@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1031

    B.A. English

    The Pennsylvania State University

    J.D.

    Widener University School of Law

  • Ms. Megan Filipowicz

    mfilipowicz@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1402

    B.A. English

    College of the Holy Cross

    M.Ed.

    Rockhurst University

  • Miss Natalie Murray

    nmurray@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1417

    B.A. English with Secondary Education Certification

    Immaculata University

    M.A. English (in progress)

    West Chester University

  • Ms. Bryana Natale

    bnatale@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1418

    B.S. English

    Temple University

  • Ms. Julia Otto

    jotto@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1401

    B.A. Secondary English Education

    West Chester University

    M.F.A. Creative Writing (in progress)

    Drexel Unversity

  • Mrs. Jennifer Pixley

    Director of Support Services

    jpixley@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1125

    B.A. English

    Dickinson College

    M.Ed. Education and Literacy

    West Chester University

    B.C.E.A.

    National Special Education Advocacy Institute

Course Sequence

GRADE 9GRADE 10GRADE 11GRADE 12
English 1: Literary Genre (CP, H)English 2: American Literature (CP, H)English 3:
British Literature (CP, H)
AP English Literature and Composition
AP English Language and Composition2
Electives:
● Creative Writing (CP)3
● Public Speaking (CP)4
Semester Courses (choose 2):
● Modern American Literature (CP)
● The Literature of Social Justice (CP)
● Poetry and Song (CP)
● Honors 20th Century Drama
● Honors Women in Literature
● Honors The Outsider in Literature
Electives:
● Creative Writing (CP)
● Public Speaking (CP)
2. Must meet placement criteria to take this elective. See course description.
3. Preference for electives provided only when core requirements are met.
4. Preference for electives provided only when core requirements are met.