English

The English Department offers students a solid college preparatory program built around a strong emphasis on written communication.

Classroom time is devoted to engaging each student in a community of discourse through reading, writing, speaking, and listening. Critical thinking is fostered and encouraged as students develop an appreciation and understanding of both classic and contemporary literature.

Within both the college prep and honors courses, students approach literature as a means to explore our world and communication as a tool to express perceptions of that world.

English Department Faculty

  • Mrs. Elizabeth Sandberg

    Chair

    esandberg@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1403

    B.A. Communication and Theater Studies, English minor

    Ursinus College

    M.Ed. Secondary Education

    Villanova University

  • Mrs. Kara Bielli

    Director of Service and Social Justice

    kbielli@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1031

    B.A. English

    The Pennsylvania State University

    J.D.

    Widener University School of Law

  • Sr. Barbara Cook

    sbcook@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1096

    B.A. Theology and English

    Immaculata University

    M.A. English

    Villanova University

    M.S. Pastoral Care and Counseling

    Neumann University

  • Ms. Megan Filipowicz

    mfilipowicz@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1402

    B.A. English

    College of the Holy Cross

    M.Ed.

    Rockhurst University

  • Mrs. Jessica Mullen

    jmullen@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1418

    B.A. English with Concentration in Writing

    La Salle University

    M.Ed. Reading

    Cabrini University

  • Miss Natalie Murray

    nmurray@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1417

    B.A. English with Secondary Education Certification

    Immaculata University

    M.A. English (in progress)

    West Chester University

  • Ms. Bryana Natale

    bnatale@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1126

    B.S. English

    Temple University

  • Mrs. Jennifer Pixley

    Academic Success Program Coordinator

    jpixley@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1125

    B.A. English

    Dickinson College

    M.Ed. Education and Literacy

    West Chester University

    B.C.E.A.

    National Special Education Advocacy Institute

  • Ms. Amanda Sierzega

    asierzega@vmahs.org

    Ext. 1401

    B.A. English

    Ursinus College

    M.A. English

    Slippery Rock University (in progress)

Course Sequence

GRADE 9GRADE 10GRADE 11GRADE 12
English 1: Literary Genre (CP, H)English 2: American Literature (CP, H)English 3:
British Literature (CP, H)
AP English Literature and Composition
AP English Language and Composition2
Electives:
● Creative Writing (CP)3
● Public Speaking (CP)4
English 4 Seminars (must choose 2):
● Modern American Literature
● The Literature of Social Justice
● Short Story
● Honors 20th Century Drama
● Honors Women in Literature
● Honors Isolation vs. Belonging
Electives:
● Creative Writing (CP)
● Public Speaking (CP)
2. Must meet placement criteria to take this elective. See course description.
3. Preference for electives provided only when core requirements are met.
4. Preference for electives provided only when core requirements are met.