Book of Principals Project

In 2013, Sister Regina Ryan established an IHM Charism Committee of Villa Maria’s Advisory Board. The mission of the group was to find concrete ways to keep the influence and memory of the IHM Sisters alive and tangible. The result of the Committee’s deliberations is our Book of Principals, which identifies and honors the 26 women who have served Villa Maria Academy as principal since 1872.

Villa Maria Principals

1872-1886 Mother M. Gonzaga Rooney
1886-1892Mother M. DeChantal Hayes
1892-1893Mother Mary Borgia Eckenroth
1893-1904Mother Mary Camilla Maloney
1904-1905Mother Mary McMenamin
1910-1912Sister Mary Irene Lafferty
1912-1914Mother Mary James Sweeney
1914-1925Mother M. Loyola Gallagher
1925-1931Mother M. Crescentia Lamb
1926-1930Mother M. St. Margaret Donavan
1931-1935Mother M. Immaculata Hayes
1935-1939Sister Louise Marie Betz
1939-1940Mother Mary Esther Carty
1940-1946Mother Mary Andrew Murray
1946-1956her M. Catherine Louise Martin
1956-1962Mother M. Carmen Rosa Hamill
1962-1968Mother Maria Assumpta Monaghan
1968-1971Mother M. Therese Agnes Bell
1971-1974Sister Marie Agnese O'Brien
1974-1975Sister M. St. Eileen Gilligan
1975-1981Sister M. Lucina Hirsch
1981-2000Sister Maria Veritas/Mary Kelly
2000-2002Sister Patricia Fadden
2002-2012Sister Marita Carmel McCarthy
2012- presentSister Regina Ryan